Flooded Path

The water trickles beneath my feet

A steady stream of liquid

It covers up the smaller stones

Though the bigger ones shoot up like jagged mountains


I’ve been here before

I can tell by the smell

It reeks of familiarity

It reeks of home


At least it used to be home

Until the ocean came up to meet my house

Wood gave way to water

We barely got out alive


And as I look out on the ruins

A tear forms in my eye

It rushes to join the waters below

A flooded path



The Icognito Writer | Copyright 2017

Leave a Reply

